Ensigns of Israel’s Camp

Tradition tells us that when the Twelve Tribes were encamped in the Wilderness, and ranged north, south, east and west, around the Tabernacle of the Congregation, they were placed under four ensigns or standards — Judah, Issachar, and Zebulon, by a Lion; Reuben, Simeon and Gad, by a Man; Ephraim, Manasseh and Benjamin, by an Ox; and Dan, Asher and Naphtali, by an Eagle.

Further details are to be found in “Smith’s Bible Dictionary”, in an article by Canon Bevan. Except allusions in Gen. xlix. 9, and Hosea x. 11, which lend support to the statement that two of the ensigns were a lion and ox, for Judah and Ephraim, the Bible is silent on the matter. Details, however, of the divisions in the Camp of Israel are found in Numbers ii. 3, 9,10, 16, 18, 24, 25 and 31

Over Christadelphians

Free Christadelphians or Brothers and sisters in Christ, living in Belgium, European Union. - Vrijë Christadelphians of Broeders en zusters in Christus wonende in België in de Europese Unie.
Dit bericht werd geplaatst in History & Events, Portrait - Biblical figures en getagged met , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

Laat een Reactie achter - Leave a Reply

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te bestrijden. Ontdek hoe de data van je reactie verwerkt wordt.